Warm airy musical speakers?

Philsons

May 29, 2014
Visit site
I am a newbie to Hifi. Well I have been reading on forums on and off for the last 5 years, but never had any system myself.
I'm a musician myself and have an idea of what type of sound I'm looking for. It is a warm, airy, open and organic sound with good midrange for vocals. Listen to jazz, acoustic music, norah jones, Diana Krall etc..
I don't like a cold and bright type of sound.
I've read alot of sonus faber, venere 1.5/2.0. Could be that kind of speaker I'm looking for?! Also I have read about focal aria 906. Seems to get great reviews.
I live far off any hifi-stores so I thought I will collect some good candidates for listening, when I visit a bigger city.
My budget is around $2000 - $2300 for both speaker and amplifier. New or used doesn't matter. For an amplifier I'm interested in tubes..
All recommendations are welcome!

bluedroog

Mar 4, 2010
Visit site
The trouble with these adjectives in hifi is they can be inteprted in different ways. However I'd say B&W are warm, perhaps not airy.

depending on budget I'd strongly suggest you have a look at Harbeth speakers, Also have a look at Spendor.

harbeth partically are very open and natural and excel with female vocal and acoustic music.

Vladimir

Dec 26, 2013
Visit site
Sonus Faber Minima Vintage

Sonus Faber Electa Amator (above budget but epic, the last speaker you will ever buy)

Harbeth P3ESR

ProAc Response One SC (not bright with tube amps)

B&W CM1

CnoEvil

Aug 21, 2009
Visit site
Your choice of speaker will be greatly determined by the Tube amp you get.

Brands I would recommend are: Icon Audio, Unison Research, Jadis, Audio Note, Pure Sound, Ayon, Leben, Mastersound, Ear Yoshino and McIntosh

james_LR90

Aug 17, 2010
Visit site