How do you know which speakers your amp is best suited to?

Thropplenoggin

Jan 6, 2014
Visit site
What does the Rotel RA-10's 2 x 40 watts mean vs Marantz PM6005 2 x 45 watts?

What speakers would match the power of amps such as these? Are there any speakers that just wouldn't work?

Often I read this in the specs of retailers: 'Recommended amp power (watts) 25 - 150 watts' (Q Acoustic Concept 40). How would this recommendation apply to the above two amps? Would they be in the sweet spot or not able to get the best out of the speakers?

Sorry if this is obvious but I'm new to all of this.

Thanks.

Throppers

hoojtune73

Jan 13, 2013
Visit site
hello there to be honest you would never hear the difference in volume terms with the amps you suggest.

when number crunching with audio figures also take into account speaker sensitivity(the db rating) and impedence (ohms)which is the resistance to electrical current.the lower this figure the harder it will be for an amp to drive.

the best way is to go to a dealer and judge with your ears,most modern budget priced amps will drive speakers around there same price range with ease.

Thropplenoggin

Jan 6, 2014
Visit site
Thanks for your reply, hoojtune73. So would there be no point in pairing a budget amp like the Marantz with relatively high-end speakers like the KEF LS50s? Would something like the new B&W 686 S2 or Dali Zensor 3s make more sense?

hoojtune73

Jan 13, 2013
Visit site
no worries,not heard any of those speakers in question but the marantz shouldnt have any trouble driving them.

they say as a rule always spend a bit more on your amp than speakers but it isnt always the case.

can you find a good dealer,they are great,spend as many hours as you like listening to music of your choice until you find the gear you like

regards

matt

Thompsonuxb

Feb 19, 2012
Visit site
You don't.