Total beginner question...where do I start with computer based music?!

JC1982

Feb 19, 2010
Visit site
Hi all, from reading some of the forum posts on here and reviews in the magazine I'm starting to feel like cds are a bit outdated. I just wanted some advice on where to start with playing music directly from my laptop? I have an Onkyo micro at the moment but looking to upgrade to separates, perhaps without a cd player if computer-based music is the future.

My laptop is fairly basic and I don't think it has optical outputs or anything similar - just USB or ethernet connections. I presume I need a DAC to connect to an amplifier but not sure how this will be connected? Is there some other hardware required such as a NAS drive? I've heard of these but not really sure what they do!

Also, all my music is on iTunes - would I need to convert to a different format?

Thanks

manicm

The Arcam rDac is supposed to be excellent with USB. You would simply connect PC to rDAC via USB cable, and the stereo line-outs from rDac into your amplifier using standard RCA cable.

You can use iTunes just fine. Rip in Apple Lossless, AIFF for best results.

Your laptop alone would be fine for music storage - you could attach an external USB drive as well if you have enough USB ports. A NAS drive would also be fine and is ideal if you need to share music around the house.

scene

JC1982:
Hi all, from reading some of the forum posts on here and reviews in the magazine I'm starting to feel like cds are a bit outdated. I just wanted some advice on where to start with playing music directly from my laptop? I have an Onkyo micro at the moment but looking to upgrade to separates, perhaps without a cd player if computer-based music is the future.

My laptop is fairly basic and I don't think it has optical outputs or anything similar - just USB or ethernet connections. I presume I need a DAC to connect to an amplifier but not sure how this will be connected?