The new vinyl resurgence, why now?

As an old-timer that has always had music served up on a 'black disc' in my life I am intregued to find out why the vinyl phenomenon of today has evolved.

Considering the number of questions we get on this forum from complete novices about adding a turntable to their systems, invariably on a budget, why would somebody want to return to such a 'low-fi', and expensive if bought new, system?

On a restricted budget there is no way a vinyl-based system is going to compete with the cheap CD options that are currently available, so why the interest?

Why would someone with no vinyl in their collection want to suddenly decide it's a must have?

Whilst I love the media myself , and have paid a small fortune getting my system to the state it is now in, I am at odds as to why someone would want to start afresh, often to the point of not realising the amp they currently own will not even take a turntable without extra outlay on an external phono preamp.

Is it purely industry-driven or is it just a yearning for things past? If it was good enough for my parents etc.

Answers on the back of a blank signed cheque please. ;-)

daveh75

most-hipster-things-ever-3.jpg

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
You'll get a number of sarcastic/negative etc answers to this question. Personally, I don't think you can pin it down to any one reason.

Yes, there are those who think it is cool. Whether this type of person is getting into it for the first time, or whether they were previously a vinyl user, who knows.

There are those who haven't used vinyl for a long time, and may have heard a friend's system and been impressed by it. There could be a number of reasons for this - maybe their friend's vinyl playing system is better than their own digital system, or maybe they have been used to digital for so long that their friend's system just sounds so different - and they prefer it.