looking for a entry/mid range turn table.

Azulan

Sep 17, 2023
Visit site
Hello!

I'm still pretty new to vinyl even though i've been listening to vinyl for a couple of years, i just never took it seriously until now. currently i have an American Audio TTD-2400 which i understand is pretty bad. i got it as my first table as second hand. Now i want to increase my sound quality of the vinyl i've been collecting over the years without spending too much money.
My budget is max 300€$. and i've been looking at AudioTechnica LP60X and 120X. 120X is twise as expensive but i like the fact that it has a better cartridge out of the box and the possibility to upgrade. The only upside the LP60X has for me ignoring the price is it's automatic arm as it takes care of everything while i fall asleep listening to music. but quality is way more important than comfort.
At the moment i feel like i'm only going to buy 1 more turn table and go with it for as long as it survives.

Is the LP120X worth twise as much as the LP60X if so, is there another brand that could compete with the LP120X for the price?

Gray

Is the LP120X worth twise as much as the LP60X if so, is there another brand that could compete with the LP120X for the price?
Only you can really answer the first question.
I would say it is.

As for your second question, probably not for the price.
Before reading your post, I was reading a favourable (Hi-fi Choice) review of the Project Debut Carbon Evo.
What Hi-Fi also liked it, but, it's a fair bit above your budget.
It serves to make that 120X look like good value.
I actually bought a VM-95E cartridge myself, it's pretty good.
With that, you'll have the option to 'upgrade' to the ML stylus - but then that money might be more usefully put toward a 'better' turntable in the first place 🤔

Last edited:
Reactions: Azulan

Azulan

Sep 17, 2023
Visit site