RP1+ Sonos Port Cartridge upgrade

Rhbmcse

Feb 17, 2024
Visit site
Hi all, appreciate this has been discussed on many forums but I feel that my opinion and situation may vary.

I was gifted a RP1+ along with a Sonos Port at Christmas and have become something of an addict. This is how it starts, I've been here before albeit not with Vinyl.

Im a network engineer for a living so it is all physically cabled via Cisco infrastructure and have to be honest, for what it is, it sounds pretty good BUT to my ears there's little vinyl warmth here on many records and the top end can be a little accentuated and over bearing. I don't hear enough of the warmth from pad sounds on many of my albums and would like to solve this.

The deck comes with the Rega carbon as most will know. I've read people recommending the Audio Technica cart (I forget the model) but this is not much different in price than the Carbon and I therefore have my doubts as to how much better it would be.

Given that I'm listening through Sonos Ones as a pair in my main listening area I guess it's not worth going mad on a ridiculously priced cart. I'm also mindful that I don't want to waste money that could be put towards a better deck but again given the equipment that I'm listening through I'm unconvinced that I need a better deck than the RP1+

SO The question - in order to quell the essy top end and to add a little more warmth to the mid range, what would your recommendations be?

I'd also like to replace the annoyingly static slipmat which attaches to the vinyl every time it is removed. I tried an acrylic but sent it back as it raised the play heigh by a couple of mm and sounded awful as a result of the presumed lack of tracking force.

I don't mind spending but replacing the Sonos with Amps etc is not an option. I live in an apartment and don't have the space so we're very much working with what I have here.

Appreciate your input.

Cheers.

Rob.

Rhbmcse

Feb 17, 2024
Visit site