Speaker cable advice needed by beginner.

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I'm new to the world of Hi-fi and I'm completely over whelmed by the huge choice of different speaker cable that's available.

I obviously don't want to make a poor choice so I'm wondering if anyone could offer some recommendations on what would be a good choice of cable for my set-up, which is, as follows;

Rotel RA 935BX Amp

Yamaha KX580 Tape Deck

Technics SL-PG580A CD Player (Possibly due to be upgraded sooner rather than later)

Yamaha TX 400 Tuner

Mission 774 Floor-standing Speakers.

Unfortunately my budget is a little tight at the moment, up to £6 per meter max (£4-£5 would be better).

I just want a single run (as opposed to bi-wiring) and the cable mustn't be too bulky as it needs to be run under the carpet.

I need approximately 6-7m's for each run.

Music taste's are mostly pop, as opposed to classical, i.e. female vocals, Dire Straits, dance, etc. etc.

I havn't a clue where to start other than seeing that QED Silver Anniversary XT and Chord Silver Screen gets good reviews from What Hi-Fi . Would either of these be a good choice?

I briefly enquired in a local shop and the sales assistant commented that QED XT may be a little 'too bright' for my system and that the original QED Silver Anniversary may be a better choice. His opinion was that I would be better off looking for a copper cable, as opposed to silver.

I've just rearranged my lounge and the old cable I was using no longer reaches, so I'm music-less until I make a decision.

Please Help! Any advice and/or recommendations would be really appreciated. Thanks.

d_a_n1979

Sep 6, 2007
Visit site
TBH for that budget you'll not get better than the Chord Carnival Silverscreen
emotion-5.gif

I agree that the QED XT cable can be a little bright at times but it's not that bad.