Marantz PM5005 vs PM6005

oatler69

Jun 16, 2015
Visit site
Hello,

I am a newbie in Hifi world, I just replaced my speaker from BX2 to Concept 20 because BX2 was too bright to my ear, my amplifier is Marrantz PM5005.

Do you guys think concept 20 with PM5005 (40W) are good combos? and if I switch to PM6005 will it be better in any way?

PM6005 has only 5W more than PM5005, how is the sound?

I use it with Turntable RP1 and I have Dragonfly DAC when I want to play music from computor

matthewpiano

The difference between those two Marantz amps is going to be fairly subtle given the cost of changing. My advice would be to wait for a more substantial upgrade and look at the Rega Brio-R or Exposure 1010, both of which leave the PM6005 in the dust and both of which will help to get the best out of those Concept 20s. You might also wish to try the Cambridge CX-A60, which adds additional flexibility with its range of inputs. If you want to stick with Marantz, the PM8005 can be had for around £650 currently (was nearly £1k) and is also a considerable upgrade from the company's more budget models.

rainsoothe

matthewpiano said:
The difference between those two Marantz amps is going to be fairly subtle given the cost of changing. My advice would be to wait for a more substantial upgrade and look at the Rega Brio-R or Exposure 1010, both of which leave the PM6005 in the dust and both of which will help to get the best out of those Concept 20s. You might also wish to try the Cambridge CX-A60, which adds additional flexibility with its range of inputs. If you want to stick with Marantz, the PM8005 can be had for around £650 currently (was nearly £1k) and is also a considerable upgrade from the company's more budget models.