Lean, fast & precise Amp + Speaker combo? Any recommendations?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I'm looking to spend about £550 on an Amp + Speaker combo. Will be used predominantly for MP3 music, though also connected to a DVD (rather than CD) player for occassional movie watching.

It needs to be an all-rounder, but preference is for one that is clear-sounding, lean & fast (as opposed to warm). Big bass is not important, though bass should be precise.

I'm no expert, but surprisingly I didn't like the (highly rated) Dali Lektor 1 speakers all that much, preferring the similarly priced Kef IQ speakers. Much better sounding to me than both of these, though, were the active Dynaudio MC-15. But these are a bit expensive for me and I'd rather connect my ipod + dvd player into a separate amp than having to plug them into both active speakers. Are there any amp + passive speaker setups for £550+/- that will have a 'similar' kind of super-clear, precise sound to these Dynaudios?

Any advice from anyone would be much appreciated! Cheers,

Chris

T

the record spot

I hear the Audiolab 8000s is apparently quite lean, some of the Cyrus amps likewise. The 8000s is available for under £300 (from £600) and if you can find a dealer that's got them, the Acoustic Energy AE22 Passives at £400 will give you a very forward and precise sound (it's nearer to a studio monitor than anything).

Check thereviews on here; this may not be exactly what you have in mind, but there's nothing wrong coming in picking left field!

One assumes with your budget that you're happy to go s/h or ex-dem. I agree with record spot, the audiolab can be had for £££'s off the normal RRP, although I'm not sure Cyrus entry-level stuff would acknowledge that budget.

Sure, if you had more money to spend, the Cyrus would be the obvious choice along with, maybe Epos M5 speakers.

A

Anonymous