Arcam A 19. I feel it has a big issue.

atishaysingh

Sep 17, 2013
Visit site
Hi i have been owning an Arcam A 19 for four months now. I was using it with B&W 683's after a lot of running in i finally decided to crank up the volume above 50 and i could hear a crackling sound through my tweeters. I reduced the volume and since then my speaker sound sharp.

Its been a month of this and that checks since then. Changing cables, source, interconnects.

I went down to the local dealer thinking that probably beacause of the laod (drop to 3 ohms) my speakers take. The amp must have distorted and damaged my tweeters.

Since then my speakers have not sounded the way they used to.

So at the local dealer i tried a pair of zensor 3 with Arcam A 19( Adifferent one). Things were much relaxed and nice i auditioned for 20 - 30 mins. althought we cant compare to 683 the over all sound as zensors are entry levels.

I took the volume at 52 53 54 and they started sounding strained but nothing distorted or there was no crackling sound. I lowered the volume.

Now after hitting them with that volume with this amp A 19 and this was a different peice not mine (brand new) . The speakers at any volume started sounding sharp. This was not the case minutes back with the same speakers and amp. The way i see it something went wrong with the tweeters/speakers. And Bacause of that its started sounding as sharp as my system at any volume. and there after it was painful listening to them as well.

I may be so doomed buying this amp. Dunno what to do...

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
atishaysingh said:
Hi i have been owning an Arcam A 19 for four months now. I was using it with B&W 683's after a lot of running in i finally decided to crank up the volume above 50 and i could hear a crackling sound through my tweeters. I reduced the volume and since then my speaker sound sharp.

Its been a month of this and that checks since then. Changing cables, source, interconnects.