Can my tweeters be damaged?

kpeter11

Jan 6, 2024
Visit site
Hi Everyone,

I'm a beginner in the Hi-Fi world and I'm a bit worried, as I'm not sure if I've damaged my speakers or not.
I have a pair of Revel Concerta2 F35 speakers, being driven by a Lyngdorf TDAI-1120 amp.
The amplifier's maximum output power is 60W into 8 ohms, the sensitivity of the speakers is 91db, the impedance of the speakers is 6 ohms I believe.

Basically a couple of times I turned up the volume a little bit to around -5 and one time by accident my finger slipped on the remote app and I got into the red section. Then I quickly realized my mistake and turned down the volume.

Since then I'm listening to my system in a very worried way, analyzing every possible distortion that may be present. Usually I'm listening around -20 sometimes around -15 (the maximum volume level is +12, since the accident I've set a limiter for -5) and when I'm close to around -10 the high frequencies with some songs sound quite harsh and unpleasant to my ears. Especially the higher range of vocals. I'm not really sure If I have damaged my tweeters or It's just my room acoustics or my ears are sensitive.

So my question is: Is it possible, that I have damaged my tweeters with that accidental nearly max volume and that occasional rather loud listening level? By the way I haven't heard distortions other than the hars high frequencies.

Last edited:

podknocker

I don't think you've damaged them. I managed to switch inputs, while at full volume and it was very painful for the 3 seconds, until I finally turned it down. I was worried about my speakers, but they sound fine. I think modern speakers are able to produce deafening levels, without actually hurting themselves. Excessive volume, beyond their design threshold for extended periods and distortion would probably kill them.

Reactions: kpeter11

My2Cents

Nov 10, 2023
Visit site
Possible but unlikely. Was the harshness there before?