apple tv hard drive upgrade

carter

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
i havnt done any research on the web into this yet but i thought i would ask here first to see if any ones tried this yet.

im still good for about another 40 gig so i should be ok for another 5 to 6 months but i thought it might be worth getting a bit of info on and maybe chosing a drive.

any advice from anyone whos done this would be great

im not a tech expert but i have done both my ps3s and built my own computer so i have a basic knowledge.

daveh75

There's plenty of software hacks(both commercial and Free) that 'enable' the usb port,to allow connection of external drives rather than having to open the unit up and replace the drive........

Here is one example of a tutorial/free hack

ATVFlash is a commercially available hack,though IIRC JD tried this and doesn't do ALL it claims to.

carter

Aug 27, 2008
Visit site
thanx pj.

had a little read it would seem i need a mac to do this.(would a cheap used mac mini work,or an old mac laptop ,ive seen a recon of one of the old cam shell types for about £100)

also what kinda hard drive would you recomend it takes a 2.5 and i think a 5400rpm,would a 7200 be an upgrade and also what other kinda stats should i look for,silent runing is important.

PJPro

Jan 21, 2008
Visit site
daveh75:There's plenty of software hacks(both commercial and Free) that 'enable' the usb port,to allow connection of external drives rather than having to open the unit up and replace the drive........

Have you done this with your ATV?

PJPro

Jan 21, 2008
Visit site
nodnarb4444:
thanx pj.

had a little read it would seem i need a mac to do this.(would a cheap used mac mini work,or an old mac laptop ,ive seen a recon of one of the old cam shell types for about £100)

also what kinda hard drive would you recomend it takes a 2.5 and i think a 5400rpm,would a 7200 be an upgrade and also what other kinda stats should i look for,silent runing is important.

Seems it needs a PATA drive?