Advice for new set up for classical music under £700. THANKS!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello I am a Newbie.

I would appreciate some advice on setting up a new system to listen to mostly classical music from computer/ipod/cd.

I have a small budget (I realise from looking at this forum!) of £700.

I would really appreciate suggestions for amp and speakers that will give me the best possible sound for a normal sized living room on this budget.

Thanks

Max

richardw42

May 2, 2010
Visit site
Is it just an amp + speakers for £700, have you got the source(s) sorted ?

If you're after an all in one : although I don't listen to classical but mostly rock / metal. I do like bands like Within Temptation, Leaves Eyes etc, I had an Arcam Solo Mini and it was a very good performer with the more symphonic style of these bands.
With more conventional metal, AC/DC, Iron Maiden, Rammstein it felt a bit off the pace.

I did see the Arcam for £550 the other day on some website. Think it might have been Sevenoaks. Add a pair of BX2s and you will be just over £700ish.

matthewpiano

If you would prefer seperates I'd be tempted to look at the NAD C326BEE with some Mission MX1s and either a NAD C515BEE or NAD C545BEE CD player, depending on how far the budget will stretch. The NADs are excellent for classical music and the MX1s are very impressive, based on what I heard of them earlier today.

Also worth trying would be the Marantz 6003 amp and CD player with the Missions.

A

Anonymous

a bit of haggling should bring a pair of dynaudio dm 2/6s and either a nad c326bee or marantz pm6003 under budget.

the dyns are what hifis best speaker under £500, and imo would be a significant step up over the bx2s.

chebby

Jun 2, 2008
Visit site
maxflinn said:
a bit of haggling should bring a pair of dynaudio dm 2/6s and either a nad c326bee or marantz pm6003 under budget.