Question B&W 702 S3 - 3.1 set up

brightontam

Nov 21, 2023
Visit site
Hello all, I am a professional musician (classical & pop), but an amateur in Hifi. I am moving to a new place, which allows me to set up a Hifi system in the living room. After some research on the internet, I tried out the B&W 702 S3 with Marantz Model 30 (100W 8ohm) + Marantz CD 40N and loved it, and I don't think I need a sub for music playback. However, when it comes to movies, I would like to add in a centre speaker and a sub (both already owned) for better movie experience. So I am thinking of getting an AV Receiver like Marantz Cinema 40. I only want a 3.1 set up, not interested in 5.1 and above. My questions are:

1. Is Marantz Cinema 40 good enough to serve both 2-channels & movie purposes?
2. Marantz Cinema 40 is 125W (8ohm), is it enough to drive this 3.1 system, or overkilling?
3. For 2-Channel music listen, is Cinema 40 just as good as Marantz Model 30?
4. Any other good Amp or Streaming/CD Player suggestion at this price point?

Sorry for the very amateurish questions, thank you all in advance.

Last edited:

twinkletoes

Nov 16, 2021
Visit site
Hi there. Nothing stupid or amateur about your question at all .

The model 40 is a very chunky amp capable of a lot. But I question the need for a surround amp for which most the features you're just not going to use.

A properly set up 2.1 system should give you a fabulous centre image especially with the 702s3's. In fact thats where the sound should seemingly be coming from most of the time. And if you really nail the setup the sound will be holographic in nature, making you question the need for surround sound at all (I know you dont want 5.1) its amazing what only 2 speakers can do. But can difficult to achieve in the domestic environment