1.750 GPB Speakers + Stereo Amp advice wanted

munks

Sep 17, 2013
Visit site
He guys, i'm rather new to hi-fi equipment and would appreciate some advice. I'm looking to buy a stereo set with a € 2.000,- budget. I was thinking of spending € 1.400,- on speakers, € 500,- on a decent amp, and € 100,- on a music streamer for OTA ability whether it be an Apple TV or a Sonos Connect (I can get the latter one with a huge discount btw, so that's why it fits). I'm already stretching the budget so the € 2.000,- mark is pretty unnegotiable.

I love all kinds of music, e.g. classic (Bach), minimalistic (Yann Tiersen), indie (Feist, The XX), electronic & dance (Daft Punk, Baauer), trip hop (Bonobo). Just really depends on my mood. I should probably also mention my room has high ceilings, the exact measurements are: 6m x 4m x 3.4m. A few weeks ago (when I hadn't made up my mind yet about the budget), I auditioned a few speakers at a local store including the BW CM8, BW CM 10, KEF R500, KEF LS50, coupled to a variety of high-end (+ € 1.500,-) NAD and Marantz stereo amps. I was suprised to conclude that even after an hour or two, I was only mildy impressed with most of them. To my ears, all of these speakers seemed unbalanced (and in the case of CM8 even horribly muddy). That is until I tried the Dali Mentor 6! Holy crap! That's the sound i'm after, a truly large sound, dynamic, fun yet bright! I guess after years with my (trash) Behringer Truth 2030A monitors, I've developed a preference for a neutral sound while slightly favoring a good bass.