Rega vs Pro-ject

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

Looking for some clarification.

I've read some negative reviews regarding the build quality of Rega Turntables.
I'm no expert but find it difficult to fathom considering the reputation of the P3 particularly.

How good are Pro-ject turntables?
Have they really advancedfand surpassed Rega in Sound & Build Quality.

I'm deciding between Rega P3 24 & Pro-ject Xpression III.

Any views or other ecommendations please, need to decide soon

p.s. I dream of the day when my choice is between Linn LP12 & Roksan Xerxes

A

Anonymous

ssvirk

I don't think you'll ever get the definitive answers you want, the P3 and xpression are both fantastic tables. I'm thinking about making a lateral move from my xpression to an rpm 5, but that's mostly a style choice.

You should focus more on price and personal preference (like which one is prettier to you, which one you think sounds better) at this point, imo.

A

Anonymous

Yeah, I guess you're right Ray.

Just wanted clarification on Build quality.

Can get the Xpression for £289 from Cool Gales with a 2M Red

Looks pretty enough and can't see how the basic (bias) Rega P3 24 can be that much better than the 2M Red Xpression.

Nobody has commented on the upgrade path of the Pro-Ject which concerns me somewhat.

I want my TT to grow, I know the Rega can, but can the Xpression.

If I win the Lottery next week I'll have both in my shop - problem solved.

A

Anonymous

Well I know you can install Rega tonearms onto the pro-jects. I believe the tri-planars can fit, pro-ject makes a couple cuties as well, they make various replacement platters but I think the acrylic is pretty gear. As for build quality, it's very good. Made in Austria, I've heard that Music Hall tt's are manufactured in the ProJect facilities but that's hearsay. And there are tutorials on building ye old home-made plinth.

A

Anonymous

Well that clears things up then - not.