Jul 12, 2023
Visit site
Hi,
I bought a second hand Technics SL-Q2 turntable with a Ortofon VMS 20E MkII cartridge a couple of years back, previous owner had it from new, I use it with my equally old Pioneer A656 Mk 2 amplifier. All been good although I'm far from an expert. As I've started collecting lots more brand new vinyl now I was wondering if I would be better off replacing the turntable/cartridge with something more modern ? My budget would be limited to max around £350 really. Any advice would be most welcome 🤗

Attachments

• IMG_20230712_130119.jpg
    IMG_20230712_130119.jpg
    62 KB · Views: 6
  • IMG_20230712_130058.jpg
    IMG_20230712_130058.jpg
    88.9 KB · Views: 6
Hi,
I bought a second hand Technics SL-Q2 turntable with a Ortofon VMS 20E MkII cartridge a couple of years back, previous owner had it from new, I use it with my equally old Pioneer A656 Mk 2 amplifier. All been good although I'm far from an expert. As I've started collecting lots more brand new vinyl now I was wondering if I would be better off replacing the turntable/cartridge with something more modern ? My budget would be limited to max around £350 really. Any advice would be most welcome 🤗
If the turntable is still working fine you probably will not see a huge upgrade for your budget.
Simply buy a better cartridge would be my suggestion, that Ortofon may be a tad tired.

Thanks, what would be a better cartridge?
There are plenty, it will depend on how much you want to spend on one.
Look at the Audio Technica range might give you some idea.
NOTE: you could simply buy a new stylus for your Ortofon however they are not particularly cheap and, for around the same price you could get a brand new cartridge complete. This may be the better option because your Ortofon could have been around since the '80s.

matthewpianist

I agree, you won't improve on your Technics for £350, it will bring a sideways move at best.