New amp for PMC DB1+ - Naim Nait 5i, Creek Evolution 2 or Yamaha A-S1000?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

I've got a PMC DB1+ and am looking to upgrade my amp (currently an old Yamaha dinosaur AX386).

I don't want to spend more than around £750, so the Naim Nait 5i, Creek Evolution 2 and Yamaha A-S1000 appear to be candidates. As I am new to mixing/matching components, I would appreciate views on the above pairings. For example, would any particular pairing lean towards being too bright/dark sounding? I know it depends on the source, but it will be a CD player (yet to be determined as that is next on the list).

Many thanks!

L

leonardng:

Hi all,

I've got a PMC DB1+ and am looking to upgrade my amp (currently an old Yamaha dinosaur AX386).

I don't want to spend more than around £750, so the Naim Nait 5i, Creek Evolution 2 and Yamaha A-S1000 appear to be candidates. As I am new to mixing/matching components, I would appreciate views on the above pairings. For example, would any particular pairing lean towards being too bright/dark sounding? I know it depends on the source, but it will be a CD player (yet to be determined as that is next on the list).

Many thanks!

L

Hi leonardng

From these three the Naim Nait 5i will be an ideal match for the PMC as believe the sound will be too heavy handed with the Creek and the Yamaha.

Have a Happy New Year.

Thanks

Rick @ Musicraft

A

Anonymous

Hi Rick - thanks for that view. I will be trying out the Naim vs the Creek (I think Graham's in London have both) and will let you know what happens. I do luurve the way that Yamaha looks though!

leonardng:Hi Rick - thanks for that view. I will be trying out the Naim vs the Creek (I think Graham's in London have both) and will let you know what happens. I do luurve the way that Yamaha looks though!

Hi leonardng

Your welcome.