Is this a sensible system?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi,

I am a complete novice and hope that you can help me with some advice on what home cinema equipment to buy.

My lounge is 480 cm long, 336 wide and there is 250 cm between the floor and ceiling. The plasma is hanging on the long-ways wall, so the sofa is about 400 cm from the TV.

My wife wants in-ceiling speakers, so this is what I have come up with:

3 front speakers: Monitor Audio C280 (£157 each)

2 rear speakers: Monitor Audio C180 (£118 each- I am told that the rear speakers are somewhat less important)

Sub-woofer: Monito Audio BRW 10 (£400)

AV receiver: Denon AVR-2310 (£640)

Do you have any experience with in-ceiling speakers? Are they as good as 'normal' ones?

Is this a reasonable system, or is it over/under dimensioned?

Any advice is thankfully received.

Kind regards

Martin

A

Anonymous

You can get the RSW12 for under 400.00, its better than the BRW10 from what I understand.

A

Anonymous

We have some in ceiling speakers in the dining room. Be careful of sound bleed into the upstairs rooms. the sound can also travel along the gap between the floor and ceiling into adjoining upstairs rooms. the wall between the bedroom and bathroom is a stud wall, so there is no gap below the floor boards. Until I formed an enclosure around the back of the speaker you could hear the sound quite clearly in the bathroom.

scene

What I would say is that:

1. The C280s are a tonal match for the RS series - So I would go with the RSW12 as the OP suggested, as it is the same price

2. The C180s are tonal matches for the BR series. If you want to save money on the rear speakers, go for C265s, not C180s.

3. A C280LCR would be better for the Centre speaker. This provides most of the dialogue in a 5.1 set-up and an LCR speaker would be more suited than the two-way straight C280s.