I want coloration... of the bass variety

CeresHilton

Mar 19, 2015
Visit site
Hello there

Firstly id like to introduce my self as this is my first post.

Im Marc a scrap man by trade.... bedroom dj and vinyl record collector (i own one of the most expensive records in the world believe it or not)

Im also a recovering drug addict, i used to smoke crack cocaine :(

The good news is that im drug free i now have the money to actually buy luxuries again :) Ive even paid to learn to read and write properly, i was reading age 7 books 18 months ago so please excuse any poor spelling etc.

Im wondering if you guys could help me build a new system please?

I currently have a rag tag mis-matched system that i bought way back in 2008-2009, it consists of a Marantz pm8003 70wpc integrated amp, rega apollo cdp and ART Stiletto monitor speakers on Partington dreadnaught stands, fairly decent cables etc

Im currently in the market for a full system overhaul as my current set up is bass shy as they come, im mainly putting this down to the speakers to be honest, 150mm driver with 110mm of actual moving cone isnt exactly going to make the earth move, on the plus side the Art monitors deliver in every other aspect, they are never bright and very warm sounding, these speakers are crying out for valve amplification, but im not really a valve kind of guy.

Im looking for Standmounts with bigger drives and a bias towards bass, any ideas guys?

When i bought the Rega apollo i quite liked it at first but i soon got bored, its got a really boring overall sound to it, anyone who suffers from sleeping problems should buy a Rega Apollo, forget sleeping tablets, put your apollo on with a death metal cd and i kid you not youll be off to sleepy land in 10 mins flat.

Im looking for a CDP thats has loads of punch and a bass heavy nature, ill sacrifice top end to achieve this.

As far as the amp goes id be happy with a few more watts than my current 70wpc and again id like a bass heavy number.