Budget amp for Mordaunt Short 902i

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Firstly let me lay down that I am a student and being a student money is TIGHT.

I first got into audio when I got my dads old hifi gear out of the loft. Some of the stuff up there was insane. Like a 1kw bose power amp out of a nightclub.

Anyway, there was a pair of old tatty monitor audio speakers in like a marble effect and a small seperates system in the corner which caught my eye. The seperates system was an old aiwa my pace 22 system from the 80's (just search p22 in google). I hooked them up with some pound shop speaker cable and the sound blew me away! Such a warm sound.

It all went down hill from there though. The speakers gave up on me as the rubbers had perished, so, I baught a pair or Mordaunt Short 902i's from richersounds which set me back £100 in the sale and I got a few metres of there cheapest gale cable thrown in. and again the sound was excelent. I had them sat down on my windowledge which just happened to be the right depth. Plenty of sability. So i never bothered about stands. anyway. The power amp gave up on me. I think it was because the speakers take quite a bit of juce to drive especially for an older amp.

So my search began for a low budget, decent amp.

My girlfriend's dad had just baught a hifi - Cambridge audio 640 amp tuner and CD player with a set of Quad 11L's which sounded fantastic. Knowing I could never afford such a system I wen on ebay and picked up a Cambridge audio A3i for just under £50 which looked decent enough. 60wpc and a reputabe make. Can i just say now that it sounded AWFULL! Boomy and a horror to listen to. ugh. Flogged it straight away and got my money back. Since the Cambridge audio sounded to boomy I thaught I would go for a 'brighter' amp.