B&W MT-30....

ukgthor

Sep 19, 2007
Visit site
I had a demo of the MT-30's yesterday at my local(ish) Audio T, and was quite impressed with what I heard, especially when compared to the Focal 5.1 which they recommended I listened to which were around the same money (£1500). The questions I have are as follows:

1. The guy in the shop told me that the subwoofer PV1 is great aesthetically, however you can get cheaper and better subs. He recommended REL (?), but just wanted to know what your recommendations are.

2. The price of the entire MT-30 with PV1 is £1500, just wanted to know if anyone has bought a system recently and did they get a deal and if so what, as this might help me in my negotiations.

3. They offered me the ex-demo set for 20% off RRP, is this a good deal and how do I know that they are good quality and haven't been hammered ?.

I'm relatively new to all of this and I just want to make sure that I make the right decision.

Thanks.

PS: I think that I have decided on the Onkyo TX-SR806 Receiver £450 in my local Richer Sounds. Hopefully this is a good choice.

Big Chris

Apr 3, 2008
Visit site
1. Stick with the PV1. It's a match aesthitically, but it's also a great sub in its own right. I'm not saying there aren't great subs below this price, but why mix 'n' match if you don't have to?

2. I've had my MT-30 for over a year. I went up to Tottenham Court Rd in central London, and I was able to get the MT-30 in 7.1 for £1460 inc. delivery. The guy was doing regular 5.1 for £1270 inc. delivery. (B&W dealers are forbidden to do internet/phone orders, but there's nothing stopping you going to the store, buying the kit, and them delivering it to your home.)

3. What kind of guarantee are they giving with the ex-demo set? If it's a full guarantee, and the cosmetics are acceptable to you, why not go for it.