Which of these receivers

ChrisDK

Sep 8, 2011
Visit site
I'm looking into upgrading my Denon AVR2105, and I'm considering the following:

- Denon AVR2312

- Pioneer VSX-2021

- Yamaha RX-A810

- Yamaha RX-V2067 (as they are selling at a very reasonable price right now).

Any experience with any of the above? Any other recommendations?

Should I be concerned that the Pioneer is a bit lighter that then rest of the bunch? Have they saved on the quality of the AMP?

It will be running a set of Monitor Audio Silver RX (5.1 setup).

I have no experience with Yamaha. How is the sound compared to Denon? And what about the general quality?

A

Anonymous

I've not heard the new Pioneer or Yamaha, but the older 2067 and the RX will be a great match.

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
If you like the combination of the RX package with your current Denon, then consider the 2312 very seriously. This will be the easiest transition to make as you'll be used to the remote an menu system. Tonally, the Yamahs won't be too dissimilar, so either the 810 or 2067 will match in well too. Although if you can stretch to a 3067, that will bring out more of the RX's capabilities. The Pioneer will be a little more of a forward sound compared to the others, and would be ideal if you want more detail and little more excitement than you're currently getting.

And weight won't be an indication of quality. Most AV receivers at the same price point are going to be similar in quality, but they'll vary slightly in features or number of inputs. Build quality might vary slightly.

ChrisDK said:
I'm looking into upgrading my Denon AVR2105, and I'm considering the following:

- Denon AVR2312

- Pioneer VSX-2021

- Yamaha RX-A810

- Yamaha RX-V2067 (as they are selling at a very reasonable price right now).

Any experience with any of the above? Any other recommendations?

Should I be concerned that the Pioneer is a bit lighter that then rest of the bunch? Have they saved on the quality of the AMP?