Mysteries of the newbie hifi lover

giocap

Feb 7, 2023
Visit site
Greetings audiophiles,
I have questions and a tale of woe and despair. Dunno if a good samaritan is willing to answer.

I decided to get the hifi sickness in2021 .I'm a music lover and i was tired of listening to music on 100€ devices (for all americans 1€=1$ nowadays)

Magnat supreme 202 (220€ on amazon) , a yamaha A-S201 (250€) ampli, a smsl SU-6 DAC for 150€, a cheap sony cd player from the 90s at 40€ with optical out connected to my dac.

I would listen to cds, or flac/mp3 320 through the dac.

So im thinking, i should have a pleasant audio experience for 600€, right?

Wrong.

No soundstage, little and muddled bass, no dynamics. . Lots of precision in reproducing audio, clear representation of music. But Lifeless.

I studied placement i tried everything. I was really sad about this situation, and it felt like i just puchased a bunch of boxes, but no sweet musical happiness in my home.

Question 1 : where did i go wrong, How is it possible to get bad results in 2021 with 600€ , did i mess up the ampli/ speaker combo?

1 year of musical unhappiness passes.

Yesterday i saw a pair of jamo e670 tower speakers for 150Eur, sold by a shady individual with a sigarette in his mouth, floor full of sigs. Zero hygene.

I had a good feeling, and was willing to waste some more money , for the pursuit of happiness, i guess.

Bring the jamo's home.
I have bass! I have some sound stage! Some form of projection of the mids! ...these towers cost 70 less than my magnat 202's.

I have found a minimal amount of musical happiness! Things are looking good! I do not look at my hifi with disdain anymore!

Now, my logical assumption is that it was the magnat's fault. Magnat is a reputable german company of cheap hifi, not much different from jamo! The e670 are despised all over the internet! The magnat's are not!