Question Total beginner looking for advice for first hi-fi purchase

Youngsoulrebel

Dec 9, 2021
Visit site
Hello,

I'm looking at purchasing my first hi-fi set up and wanted to reach out for some expert advice. I'm a music fan above all else and I'm looking for a set up that will sound great with the minimal amount of set up and after care. I live in quite a populated area with neighbours attached on all sides so I really want a system that is capable of producing a nice quality of sound on quite low volumes

My budget is around £800 for a turntable, amp and some bookshelf speakers. I've got my eye on the pro-ject debut carbon evo as I've seen a lot of videos that seem to suggest it's a turntable you won't need to upgrade for a long while at reasonable price, but I'm wary this doesn't leave an awful lot in the budget for amp & speakers. With the speakers, the Q Acoustics range look like they'd be a good fit for the size room and my price range, but I'm a bit confused about what I should even be looking for in an amp.

As I said, I'm a complete novice, barring some DJ decks I had in my late teens so would be genuinely appreciative of any advice people may have.

Many thanks in advance to any repliers.

Gray

Hopefully you've already got a substantial vinyl collection.
Otherwise, at today's rip-off prices, it won't take long to match your £800 budget just buying vinyl.
Speakers (and their interaction with your room) will have the greatest influence on your sound.
Get some more brands / models on your shortlist - and whatever recommendations you get, make sure you listen first (preferably with a home loan).
Think about what other inputs you might want on your amplifier in the future....

Hello,