Tonearm cartridge combo help please guys

Dav1d

Dec 17, 2015
Visit site
Hi everyone,

After chatting with a few of you over the last days im now about to purchase a tonearm and cartridge for my new michell gyro se, Al ears has kindly said about the origin live arm onyx which is £450 is this arm the best that £450 can buy? also can someone please advise me on a moving magnet cartridge to go with this arm i have about £90 pound. Or can anyone advise me on other combos that will go with the gyro se, Im very new to all this and just need a few options to go buy.

many thanks

david

Marantz PM8005

marantz NA8005 { my equipment

tannoy XT 8F

Dav1d said:
Hi everyone,

After chatting with a few of you over the last days im now about to purchase a tonearm and cartridge for my new michell gyro se, Al ears has kindly said about the origin live arm onyx which is £450 is this arm the best that £450 can buy? also can someone please advise me on a moving magnet cartridge to go with this arm i have about £90 pound. Or can anyone advise me on other combos that will go with the gyro se, Im very new to all this and just need a few options to go buy.

many thanks

david

Marantz PM8005

marantz NA8005 { my equipment

tannoy XT 8F

Hi Dav1d, me again.

If you don't mind me adding to this thread as well I would suggest the Shure M97xe which can be found for £79 if you're lucky. Probably best all rounder for your budget.

Another suggestion would be the Audio Technic AT120e but the cheapest I can find this is £93.

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
For £450 probably the best arm yes, if you could up budget another £150 then I would go for a Tecnoarm which will have good resale value if you intend to upgrade again.

Dont think there will be much between them TBH espeically with a relatively budget cartridge.

The Shure get favourable reviews so probably the most bang for buck.

You do realise the Gyro needs to be built up ?