Static IP addresses

AlmaataKZ

Jan 7, 2009
Visit site
I have a fair number of devices on my network and sometimes I get connection problems. My thinking is that some of them can be related to IP address conflicts so I hope setting fixed addresses will remove some if not all problems.

But I have never done that before so have no idea how to do it and I have zero experience with Macs.

Can somebody kindly help me to set up static IP addresses.

I have the following:

Virgin wireless router, with the following connected to it via Ethernet
- Netgear router (with its wireless set to off)
- MacMini (wireless off)
- Powerlilne Ethernet adapter
- BluRay player
And via wireless:
- WinXP netbook
- Iphone4s
- Iphone4
- Ipod touch
- Ipad (future)

the following are connected to the Netgear router via Ethernet:
- TV
- Humax freview receiver

Two other things are connected on the other side of the powerline network via Ethernet:
- A Win XP desktop (wireless off)
- Squeezebox touch

So this makes 12 devices on the network.

How do I set static ip addresses for all of them?

scene

Hi, I doubt your connection problems are specifically caused by DNS and IP - Unless you're hibernating devices and then turning them back on again when it's original IP has been re-used. In that case, you'll get an error message on the DNS assigning router.

One thing I would say, is that only one device on your network should assign DNS addresses - if you have two, chaos will ensue! Is this your NetGear router or the VirginMedia wireless router? As your Virgin router looks like the main router in the system, this should be assigning IPs and the DNS services on the NetGear router should be switched off...

scene

The_Lhc said:
scene said:
As your Virgin router looks like the main router in the system, this should be assigning IPs and the DNS services on the NetGear router should be switched off...

<sotto voce> DHCP... <sotto voce>