Rotel Ra 10 or Arcam FMJ A 19 for B&W 683

atishaysingh

Sep 17, 2013
Visit site
:roll: :roll: :roll: HI I am New to this Hi fi World and i am no expert. I have recently bought B&W 683 in India. I am Now looking for a amp as the speakers are yet to be delivered.(Shipment Delay) I am looking for an amp between 300 to 1000 US dollars. As per reveiws Rotel RA 10 and Arcam FMJ A 19 Seem to be good.

I want detail and excellent vocals. I have auditioned ra 10 with B&W 683 once found them to be ok but will have to audition once again before passing a verdict. I have not auditioned Arcam though and cant audition them with 683 for sure as its a difereent dealer. in India i am getting Ra 10 for 700 dollars and Arcam for 900. So i am paying a bit more for Ra 10 vs Arcam as compared to international Prices.

I am damn confused. Also open to suggetions on other amps. Also suggest a CDP matching the amp. I have my eyes on marantz 6005. Audiolab not available in India...

Frank Harvey

Jun 27, 2008
Visit site
Either of those amplifiers should work well with the 683s, but I would probably edge towards the Rotel as they tend to be better than most at controlling the (sometimes slightly excessive) bass of the B&W floorstanding speakers.

atishaysingh

Sep 17, 2013
Visit site
Thanks David but do you think i should consider as what hi fi says the scale in the arcam fmj a 19 and the point that it competes with cyrus 6a and naim is itself a testimony.

Yes but there is a fact that B&W and rotel share the same family which gives it may be the compatibility edge

Also what other amp would work well in your opinion. what abour cdp...

atishaysingh

Sep 17, 2013
Visit site
I will figure out about the availability of creek in India. Although what about A 19 Vs Rotel do you guys agree with david or A 19 is a better choice.........

audioaddict

Nov 1, 2011
Visit site