New System Needed. Help Required

MDGOLF

Oct 27, 2013
Visit site
Hi New to the forum so hello everyone. I am in the market for a new CD player, Amplifier and Speakers. I have around £2500 to spend in total. I am into a variety of music from Oasis through to Metallica. So am looking for guidance on brands and even a system recommendation. I am a total novice when it comes to Hi Fi and audio equipment so many thanks in advance for any help given.

CarlDW

Dec 29, 2011
Visit site
You could start with What Hi-Fi's recommended mid-range system, which consists of the Audiolab 8200CD, Arcam A19 amplifier and Tannoy DC6T SE speakers.

With that budget you have plenty of options, both passive and active (I'm sure AVI ADM9's will be recommended and are something different to consider).

Your local hi-fi dealer may have a few ideas too.

MDGOLF

Oct 27, 2013
Visit site
Cheers for that. I will check the system out. I am from Chesterfield which unfortunately is very limited in choice. We only have the one dealer which is Audioscene, I am a student though on a golf studies course in Preston so if anyone knows of any good dealers round there. I have already been to the 2 in Preston city centre however.

MDGOLF

Oct 27, 2013
Visit site
Thanks again. It is a Christmas and Birthday present combined with myself adding some to it. Would rather pay a bit more and get something better as it will hopefully then last me years. Will have a look at the Rega

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
Thats a good budget!

Find yourself a local independent dealer who is happy to spend time demoing amps & speakers as they give you the most sonic differences.

DO NOT buy any gear on the strength of WHF reviews - it is very subjective - best to hear stuff yourself, especially speakers which ideally should be at home.

Dont get too obsessed with cables a £50 Interconnect will suffice and a quality 500 strand OFC speaker cable (ebay)