Marantz PM6003 woes

toneey.m

Mar 3, 2013
Visit site
I am having problems with a Marantz PM6003 amp and wondered if this is common.

Basically the amp hums constantly (I've tried 2 pairs of speakers) and frequently drops into stand-by mode which is apparently protection against speakers less than 4 ohms. I have very little electronics knowledge and am baffled and dissapointed as I have owned older amps that have given no problems for 10-20 years.

Any thoughts or assistance would be appreciated, Marantz have supplied me with a company to send the amp to to get fixed and I'm waiting for an estimate.

toneey.m

Mar 3, 2013
Visit site
Thanks for your replies.

Re user damage, I can't think of a definite reason. However one of the inputs is the audio from a Freesat box, the volume has been up high a couple of times but not defeningly high, the volume had not been left high for more than a few seconds. Could this have done it?

Ref replacing amp/speakers. I use Mission 760is so these maybe the logical choice for change. I've been thinking about replacing them but not sure what to replace them with. What hi-fi rate the Tannoy DC6 speakers for instance but i'd quite like to find out more about older speakers. I like jazz e.g. Polar Bear, Promesis .. so quite modern but most of the time my hi-fi is used for listening to the radio. So I think I like mid range but like base when its supposed to be heard! My Missions seem a bit lacking in the base dept.

matthewpiano

How did you connect the audio from the Freesat box to the amp? Did you use conventional phono/rca leads (red/white) at the Freesat end or did you take a feed from the Freesat's headphone output? If the former, the signal would only be line level at most, and not amplified, so shouldn't cause any damage.