Integrated Stereo amp help

Led Head

Apr 26, 2015
Visit site
Hello everyone,

I'm going to be getting into the Hi Fi world. I originally was going to buy a A/V receiver, to use it as a sort of all in one package. However I've rethought that and have decided to do my audio setup in a completely seperate room. Therefore I've decided to go with an integrated amplifier.

My question is though, since I am still quite new to the Hi Fi world, I'm having a bit of trouble understanding amp specs. The top amps I'm looking at are the Roksan K2, or the Cambridge Audio CXA60. The frontrunner being the Roksan. But where I'm confused is the wattage output. The Roksan puts out 125 watts per channel. Whereas the Cambridge amp puts out 60 watts per channel. I remember reading somewhere that wattage isn't everything, but current can be a more telling specification. What should I be looking for to be able to tell how well they will be able to drive speakers? Why the difference in wattage?

Thank you all for your help!

Andrewjvt

Jun 18, 2014
Visit site
In a simple way the more power or watts per channel the louder it will go.
But....
this does not give any sort of indication of the quality of the sound as it may not be able to cope with demanding speaker loads. The more expensive roksan m2 is only 70 or 80 watts but is a better sounding amp.
Specs alone dont give you the full picture.
But i have a roksan kandy and for a budget amp its a lot of amp for the price and sounds great.

Andrewjvt

Jun 18, 2014
Visit site
Contact iq speakers on the forum or look them up on the web. They sell abrahamsen intergrated amps between £600 - £900 and they according to the specs have 70 watts per channel but have much more current to drive demanding speaker loads. Id look at that also.

drummerman

Jan 18, 2008
Visit site
It is always a good idea to look at the amplifier in the context of speakers used.