Integrated amp recommendations?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi folks,

I'm a HiFi newbie and working on a budget. I have recently ordered my speakers. I just ordered the Tannoy Mercury V4 set. A year or two ago, I heard a pair of the Mercury F4s at a friend's house and knew I had to learn more about the Tannoy brand. As a US resident, well, you just don't see them around here (which sort of makes them more intriguing admittedly). As the new Tannoy Revolution DC6T is out of my budget and I also didn't want some little standmounted speakers (I was auditioning the KEF Q300, and B&W 685), I thought I'd try out the Mercury V4s. They're shipping from the UK to the US west coast so I still have some time before they arrive on my doorstep to make up my mind regarding my amp.

The primary purpose of my amp will be to drive my turntable, currently an older Technics table (most likely upgrading to a Rega P3 in the next year or two) but I'd also like to be able to play my mp3s occasionally as well, or plug in my laptop for an occasional movie. But again, turntable is priority #1.

My budget is $800 (US) maximum. I had my eyes set on the Marantz PM6004. A little concerned about the 45w output, I discovered the slightly beefier PM8004 which retails for 1000.00 but I found it for just under $800. I have auditioned both amps but not with the Tannoy speakers, obviously. I also can't stop thinking about maybe picking up the Rega Brio R amp, which is marginally within my budget. I guess for the most part though, I'm really considering the Marantz PM8004 but have found very little access to reviews.

Thoughts on the aforementioned integrated amps? Perhaps a recommendation for something I haven't considered yet? Just looking for some outside opinions before I pull the trigger.

Thanks,

jt

A

Anonymous