HELP PLEASE - Sony Vaio Blu Ray Drive

psurquhart

Nov 15, 2010
Visit site
Hi all,

I have meddled with my Sony Vaio VGN-AW11Z laptop's Blu Ray player drive software.

I was supposedly tidying my hard drive documents etc ... and have foolishly deleted what I think might have been something to do with the Blu Ray drives play back settings.

It will play dvd's via Windows but not my blu rays.

I am a complete novice and should not have meddled in the first place but I do not know how to get it back working. I believe the programme was WIN DVD if that helps ?

Should also say that I upgraded operating system to Windows 7 Pro but never backed it up.

Am I doomed or is their a way to get it all working again please ?

It is a MATSHITA BD-MLT UJ230AS ATA Device drive - what ever that means !!!

Help !!!!!!!! Oh and go easy on me - I appreciate I have goofed up !

psurquhart

Nov 15, 2010
Visit site
It came pre-installed via the start up discs to the old Vista operating system (if that makes sense).

I still have the back up discs but do not want to revert to Vista or lose all my other documents etc .....

Thanks for replying though.

psurquhart

Nov 15, 2010
Visit site
Thanks guys for replying but I think I have really broken things this time.

I tried the fix it thing Chebby (cheers for link) but it only fixes the dvd part of the drive which is actually working anway. The Blu Ray part of the drive needs Win DVD to play back my Blu Rays and this is where I have screwed up by removing it.

I think it may well be a third party thing that came with my bundle.

I have also loaded the latest firmware successfully but without Win DVD (silly name considering it is the basis of getting my Blu Rays to play) it means nothing.

I do not have the technical no how or nouse to have a look on the original back up discs (Vista) on how to look for Win DVD.