Question Hello - can you help please?

The Dogster

Nov 13, 2023
Visit site
Hi - I am new to the What HiFi community and would like your help please - I like my music and want to own a Retro HiFi system that sounds as good as possible BUT without spending thousands of pounds....sound familiar?
I have recently completed a home extension and I am currently moving my old HiFi equipment back into the new rooms
I am wondering about spending some money on some retro or older equipment
Firstly, here is a list of my old equipment I had as a teenager and as said still have today - nothing fancy at all BUT I do remember it sounding good in the early to mid 80's:)

Mini Sound System - Aiwa
  • Amplifier - Stereo Integrated Amplifier SA-A60 - 2x 35w - see pic
  • AM/FM Stereo tuner ST-R50 - see pic
  • Stereo Integrated Amplifier SA-A60 - see pic
  • The above was complimented by a CD player - Technics Technics SL-P 1 - see pics
  • Finally Mission 700 speakers made up my teen HiFi system - these were damaged so no longer have them

As said I remember it sounding really good - to my ears

I also bought later on a Technics Class AA Amplifier - Technics SUV60 and 2x Linear Tracking turntables

So to the question

I want to buy some 2nd hand gear - so a good pair of floor standing speakers and a decent amp that will drive them and have been looking at the following:

Speakers
  • Mission 752 Freedom​
  • Mission 753​
  • Monitor Audio Silver RX6​
  • Monitor Audio Silver 8i​
  • Monitor Audio Silver 300​
  • Monitor Audio RS6 Silver
Amps
  • Cambridge Audio CXA80 CXA 80
  • Quad 306 Power Amplifier, 34 Pre-Amp
Budget is around £750 to £900