Finally decided to get a subwoofer.

strapped for cash

Aug 17, 2009
Visit site
After years of consideration for my neighbours, I've felt underwhelmed by the lack of low-frequency presence in my system of late and decided to invest in a (hopefully relatively unobtrusive) box to add the missing .1. Having never owned a sub (despite more than a decade of surround sound use), I'm something of a novice here, so all advice is welcomed.

It would slot into a system comprised of Yamaha 1065 receiver, B&W 602 and LCR 60 fronts (old but still good) and M1 rears. I'm not really sure what level/price of sub I should be looking at. It's also a relatively small room, so presumably something like the MJ Acoustics Pro MKII would seem a reasonable bet? The Wharfedale SW150 is also available for £150 now, but would I be selling my system short here?Perhaps I should be working with a larger budget?

Any help in compiling a shortlist for audition would be great.

A

Anonymous

strapped, check out the acoustic energy radience sub, i took delivery of one on friday and i have to say im very impressed with it..its b stock, but it looks brand new to me..and comes with a year warranty. only £197 here.. suggested rrp is £510..

strapped for cash

Aug 17, 2009
Visit site
Thanks for both replies. I just worked through the other thread on subs under £300 and saw both the BK and AE were recommended. I guess the only drawback is not being able to audition either of them. Is there anyone who has heard both and can comment on performance?

The AE deal might be too good to pass up on. As it's 'B' Stock, were there any noticable cosmetic issues with the sub you received Max?

EDIT: read post in full! You stated it looks brand new already!

A

Anonymous

nope..it looks brand new strapped..cosmetically perfect
emotion-21.gif

strapped for cash

Aug 17, 2009
Visit site