Denon AVR 1910 and BT Vision

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I have my BT Vision box connected to the 1910 via HDMI cable and optical digital cable (not sure I need both but I read somewhere this is the best setup).

When watching programs from the BT Vision box (to get surround sound) I have tried PLII, Neo 6 and 5 channel stereo modes. None of these sound ideal.

The 5 channel stereo seems to put out the same signal to all 5 speakers and with the PLII and Neo6 the rear speakers produce a lot of sibilance / squeeking!

Have I got things set up correctly?

d4v3pum4

Nov 15, 2008
Visit site
I have no experience of BT Vision so don't know if the extra optical cable is required or if it can pass DD5.1 over HDMI. Hopefully a fellow BT Vision owner can chime in with the answer.

If you can hear the squeaking/scrambled noises on DPL II/DTS Neo:6 you're sitting too close to the rear speakers. It might be worth re-doing the calibration though. These strange noises are normal though as the amp is basically guessing where to put the sounds and the audio is matrixed from a 2.0 channel stereo signal.

I use DTS:Neo6 for basic TV viewing and it does the job. Obviously, it's not the same as true discrete multichannel surround sound such as Dolby Digital or DTS. Presumably you get DD5.1 from movies and sports?

Andrew Everard

May 30, 2007
Visit site
The BT Vision self-install manual - which is useless for all but the most basic set-up, BTW - seems to suggest the box passes 5.1 over the HDMI.

Heystak, how have you got the 1910 configured? To take sound from the HDMI on whichever input the BTV is connected, or to override and take sound from the optical?

Whichever, I'd expect the receiver to auto-detect the incoming audio format and set itself accordingly. Could just be you're not watching any 5.1-encoded material, and the receiver is struggling to sort out the sound using PLII or Neo:6.

A

Anonymous