Pro-Ject 5 Ei BT with Box 5 speakers

Don64

Jul 13, 2023
Visit site
Hi, I have a Pro-Ject E1 BT turntable and am using my BlueTooth speaker, all is good.

I have recently purchased Speaker Box 5 speakers however I cannot figure out how I am supposed to link them up to the turntable. The ports on the back of the speakers are different from those on the turntable.

As I'm pretty new to all of this I'm struggling to know what cables I need, do I need an amplifier in between etc...

Any advice would be welcomed.

Gray

Your speakers are passive Don, which means that you will need an amplifier between turntable and them.

Presumably your turntable has a LINE output. Can you confirm that?
(as it will determine the type of amp you require).

EDIT: It has got a line output.
So any integrated amplifier (with an analogue line input) will do.

Have a look at the (ridiculously cheap) little Lepy 2020A model.
It has just the single input you require and would connect to your speakers using bare wire.
It would be easy to dismiss it based on cost - and maybe you want something that looks and feels better.
But I've bought 3 of them, I think you'd find one a good start - you may not even want for more 👍

Last edited:

Don64

Jul 13, 2023
Visit site
Hi, Thanks for your reply. The turntable has a built-in phono Pre-amp, so do I still need an external amplifier?

If I do, the range in price is huge, any thoughts on where to start?

Don64

Jul 13, 2023
Visit site
You do - as that preamp will not directly drive your speakers.

See the edit on my first reply - which probably didn't show when you first read it.

Say how much you'd like to spend and we might come up with something better (in theory).
Go it thank you.
I've spent about £600 on the turntable and speakers so I'd like to spend not much more than £400 on amp and cabling. Is that doable?

Gray

I'd like to spend not much more than £400 on amp and cabling. Is that doable?
Perfectly doable 👍