Creek Evolution – 50A vs Marantz PM6005

bmf

Oct 23, 2015
Visit site
Hi,

I'm new in the hifi waters, i'm just starting to wet my toes.

i want to build a new hifi sistem. So far i'we got a Arcam IRDAC

There is a sale in my country for the following amps

Creek Evolution – 50A - £430

Marantz PM6005 - £250

What to buy.. ? is the Creek worth the extra money? In the site review they said that it lacks bass

i don't have a big budget £700 for amp and speakers

I haven't got any speakers, i'm open to suggestions.

Thx

Blacksabbath25

Sep 20, 2015
Visit site
bmf said:
Hi,

Marantz PM6005 - £250

What to buy.. ? is the Creek worth the extra money? In the site review they said that it lacks bass

Thx
hi you will not go wrong with the marantz pm6005 its a lovely amp for the money and it works very well with your dac as i have the same one as you have and i did have the the pm6005 before up grading to the bigger marantz pm8005 amp . the dali 3s will work well with marantz gear too and i think if you take a look on richer sounds they are doing a packge deal for the amp ,the matching cd player and the dali 3s or look on ebay for a secondhand marantz pm6005 as they sell for about £200 -50 secondhand but all 3 are very good starters to get on the hifi ladder and the bouns is you have the arcam dac which is better then the one used in the marantz cd player as there is a dac in the pm6005 as well

D

Deleted member 108165

bmf said:
Hi,

Marantz PM6005 - £250

Thx

I have never heard the Creek but have owned various Marantz amps and they are good amps. However, the Creek is a better amp than the Marantz, that is why it is more expensive. If you were to compare the Creek 50A to the Marantz 8005 that would be a more difficult choice but against the 6005 it would have to be the Creek. Not sure about speakers but have heard that Creek pairs well with Monitor Audio.

Your money so your choice, but try not to buy without hearing both amps to see which you prefer.

philpot1001