...building a budget computer-based system... opinions and suggestions are welcome!

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all,

I am a classical musician and I listen mostly to classical music, jazz and acoustic rock. I am looking to put together a very low-budget, yet decent system for my apartment. My music is stored on my computer, and I was thinking of buying a Buffalo Link Station NAS to store it on my home network.

I would appreciate any suggestions from the experienced audiophiles, since I am really just starting, and I am aware that this will be a very entry-level system. My budget is less then 1300 pounds, and I would like sound for two rooms. This is what I have put together for now on the shopping list...

LIVING ROOM (will double as stereo home theater)

- HARMAN KARDON HK 3490 Stereo Receiver + Primus 360 HiFi Speakers (x2)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/HARMAN-KARDON-Receiver-Speakers-ComboKit/dp/B00415BL3A/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1305849013&sr=1-2

BEDROOM (smaller than living room)

- computer connected to NuForce Icon HDP Class A Headphone Amp, 192 24 DAC, Pre Amplifier

http://www.sightandsounduk.com/NuForce-Icon-HDP-Class-A-Headphone-Amp-192-24-DAC-Pre-Amplifier.html

- Pioneer A-209R Stereo Amplifier

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Pioneer-A-209R-Stereo-Amplifier-Black/dp/B00005OOJG/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1305898285&sr=1-2

- Tannoy Mercury V1 Bookshelf Speakers

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Tannoy-Mercury-V1-Bookshelf-Speakers/dp/B004EQMPC2/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1305895817&sr=1-2

The problem now is how to connect the computer to both systems. Would something like the audioengine W1 Wireless adapter do the trick?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Audioengine-Premium-Wireless-Audio-Adapter/dp/B0018Q4WUO/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1305892920&sr=8-5

And if so, wouldn't it be better to attach the transmitter AFTER the DAC to preserve quality?

Any other ideas are welcome... Thank you!

Foscolo84

A

Anonymous

Hello John,