Best Home Cinema package for around £5,000?

Muzza

Apr 11, 2011
Visit site
Hi

I am looking for advice on a new TV and sound system in a room of about 14 feet by 12 feet. I would like to watch TV, movies and listen to music (streamed from PC) and I have a budget of around £5,000. I would like it to look good too and from on there I am thinking the following:

TV = Samsung UE46D7000 -£1,700

Speakers = B&W MT-30 - £1,600

Amp = Onkyo TX-NR808 - £1,000

I am new to this, would that go well together and is that all I need?

Thanks

Duncan

A

Anonymous

Hi Duncan,

Difficult to say without seeing a plan of your room. Your best bet would be to find a local dealer who can look at a room plan for you (or pop over). My personal choice would be plasma over LCD. TXNR808 is due to be replaced by 809 by the end of the month.

Muzza

Apr 11, 2011
Visit site
Many thanks, the room is pretty much a square with a sofa in the middle so hopefully should be ok for the TV / sound?

duaplex

Feb 22, 2011
Visit site
Thats £4300 are you spending the additional £700 on wires and stands? (seems an awful lot for this system) I would say spend less on TV and more on AV. Get the LX73 instead of the Onkyo to run the MT-30. Or if you really want that TV then try to stretch a little on the AV, believe me its worth it!

Hope that helps :)

A

Anonymous

If your looking at style speakers I would suggest looking at the Monitor Audio Apex with the LX-73 a truly awesome combination, certainly a step up from the 808 with the MT30 IMO.

ric71

Mar 9, 2010
Visit site
I would def agree with markjaspi on that one!!! Apex and the Pioneer rock for both movies and music. It would be a huge step up in performance and I feel you would really appreciate the difference.

Check out the Apex owners thread

duaplex

Feb 22, 2011
Visit site