Anyone Managed To Get By With Just A Tablet And No Computer?

landzw

Jun 9, 2009
Visit site
As above really, i've found myself really only surfing the net and doing e-mails and was thinking of ditching my computer for a tablet.

I know i will not be able to burn playlists to cd no more but its not the end of the world, If i got an ipad i could put all of my music in the cloud or get an android and put the music to sd card.

Would it be worth waiting for the Microsoft Surface Tablet as this is meant to be in the middle of tablet and desktop ?

Not sure what to do and it would be good to hear if anyone has done this

smbmetal

Sep 8, 2007
Visit site
Yep, I've been using my iPad 1 for two years. I've stored my music and films on a Netgear ReadyNas and have not needed to get my laptop out for anything. I guess it depends what you use your current computer for, but for 99% of the time my iPad s fine!

fr0g

Jan 7, 2008
Visit site
No chance.

Typing on a tablet, no matter which, is a compromise. No physical feedback and a screen that eats up space.

The Asus Transformer or the upcoming Surface or other W8 tablets would be better.

But then again, I am now typing on my laptop, 17" screen. It's a million miles away from typing on my tablet (Samsung Galaxy 8.9)...which is great for consuming media only IMO. And if I could choose I'd be using my desktop, 24" screen.

Another problem (for some) is that current tablet operating systems are just phone OS's and only serve one user. Bad if you wish to share the device. Windows 8 should fix that one, which is a far more serious OS than iOS or Android (imo)

just to add. If I had to live with just one machine, it would be a desktop PC, and use a larger screened phone for the mobile stuff...

For the price of the basic iPad 3 you can get an extremely capable desktop PC with a nice big screen. Park it somewhere convenient and use a phone when you can't access it.

scene