airport express

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
hi im looking for a amp, and a rca cable to go from my airport express to amp any ideas what would be a good set up? im connecting a pair of b&w 685 speakers to the amp as many ideas as possible would be great thanks

professorhat

Dec 28, 2007
Visit site
Sorry, it's a bit unclear what you need here - you say you need an amp and an rca cable to go from the Airport Express to the amp - do you have your B&W speakers already connected to an amp and you just need a suitable cable? Or are you looking for a new amp as well? In which case, what's your budget for the amp?

A

Anonymous

Sorry yes I need a amp and RCA cable. Budget well I don't really have a budget, just buy what I need to get good sound out my speakers, but if I had to have a budget nothing more than £500 I can't imagine I need anything more expensive than that, but I could be wrong Im kinda new to all this setting up business!

DavieCee

Aug 19, 2010
Visit site
To get the best out of your set up, try finding a quality amp with an optical digital input connection & built-in DAC.

You will just end up buying an external DAC later otherwise
emotion-5.gif

A

Anonymous

Any suggestions what amp? minus the Dac! for the mean time as I will buy that later on as a separate. Also does the optical digital input replace the RCA cable? And is it better if so why?

DavieCee

Aug 19, 2010
Visit site
As I already had an amp, I only looked at DACs but I assume that there are amps with built-in DACs out there from reading other people's posts.

The reason is that while my AE was decent using an analogue cable to the amp it sounds massively better connected via an optical cable to a DAC to the amp. I was just trying to cut down on your box count, time and expenditure.
emotion-5.gif

A

Anonymous