What recievers give you full controll for a Manual EQ?

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
I've been looking to buy a new AV receiver with a budget of up to 2k.

I'm a digital cinema engineer by profession and I'm used to doing my own EQ in an auditorium using my Dolby sound analyser for reference. In a cinema auditorium the EQ of the room is done to the X curve which is a standard curve they came up with in the 70's for doing an EQ in a large auditorium.

From many years of experience I've found that even the best “auto EQ systems” can't beat doing it manually with an analyser for reference and simply using your ears! In huge auditoriums like the Odeon or the Empire Leicester Square we roll off the HF even steaper and in smaller cinema screen you can make it flatter.

For a domestic EQ in a small living room a completely flat response is desirable and I'd like to be able to achieve this by doing it myself as I imagine different manufactures have different tastes and you end up with very different results!

To my amazement, when I went into a branch of a very reputable and popular high end AV shop asking which amps gave me control over the EQ I was told non of the manufactures let you do that with domestic kit!

After doing a bit of digging I've since found that you do have good control over the Yamaha amps IF you can find the “receiver manager” software (which isn't readily available on their website, and was very difficult to find). They have 7 band parametric per channel which is fantastic news but you can't select the exact frequency you want which is a real shame. Still, it's the closest thing I've found so far and now the top of the range V3067 can be found for under 1k it's coming in way under budget (big thumbs up).

My question is, does anyone know if other manufactures give you this amount of control and what's it like compared to the Yamaha? Any links would be appreciated.

Russ

Boca

May 9, 2009
Visit site