What do very expensive headphones sound like - are they worth it?

T

theflyingwasp

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to headphones .a month ago I bought the B&W P7s they were £330 from amazon then I shelled out £110 for the fiio e12,amp and they sound awesome to someone like me but after a bit of digging I found headphones up to £2000! Ultrasone edition 10 $2800!!

what do they sound like? its hard to imagine headphones sounding 5x better than I already have .are these type of headphones ment for high end hifi systems .would it be stupid even if money was no object to use them for iPods and iPads etc

like most electrical equipment are you paying for build and component quality rather than getting 10x the sound quality.

dalethorn

Dec 7, 2011
Visit site
theflyingwasp said:
I'm a complete newbie when it comes to headphones .a month ago I bought the B&W P7s they were £330 from amazon then I shelled out £110 for the fiio e12,amp and they sound awesome to someone like me but after a bit of digging I found headphones up to £2000! Ultrasone edition 10 $2800!! what do they sound like? its hard to imagine headphones sounding 5x better than I already have .are these type of headphones ment for high end hifi systems .would it be stupid even if money was no object to use them for iPods and iPads etc. like most electrical equipment are you paying for build and component quality rather than getting 10x the sound quality.

As you move up the scale there is less and less difference in quality, but there may be dramatic differences in headphone 'signature', i.e. frequency response or balance. Same goes the other way for signature unfortunately, so often it isn't easy or even feasible to compare two specific headphones.