USB cable group test

hifikrazy

Aug 9, 2007
Visit site
A group test of 10 USB cables in the July issue of Hi-Fi News & Record Review.

Some extracts:

This time last year, HFN ran a ground-breaking group test revealing audible and measurable differences between USB cables.

With the experience of last year’s USB cable group test already under our collective hat, we began 2014’s digital voyage with a degree of expectation. And we were not disappointed, for the differences between this crop of proprietary USB cables were no less audible.

They have included graphs for each cable plotting Vpk on the Y-Axis and nsec on the X-Axis and those graphs do indicate clear differences. I have no scientific knowledge to understand what those graphs show, but it seems to indicate that there are measurable differences, contrary to the foo fighters claims on this forum.

TrevC

hifikrazy said:

Some extracts:

This time last year, HFN ran a ground-breaking group test revealing audible and measurable differences between USB cables.

With the experience of last year’s USB cable group test already under our collective hat, we began 2014’s digital voyage with a degree of expectation. And we were not disappointed, for the differences between this crop of proprietary USB cables were no less audible.

They have included graphs for each cable plotting Vpk on the Y-Axis and nsec on the X-Axis and those graphs do indicate clear differences. I have no scientific knowledge to understand what those graphs show, but it seems to indicate that there are measurable differences, contrary to the foo fighters claims on this forum.

Hifi news is full of fantasists. I wouldn't pay them and their nonsense any mind.

hifikrazy

Aug 9, 2007
Visit site
Like this

graph10.jpg

chebby said:
hifikrazy said:
They provided graphs plotting Vpk against nsec, whatever that means

http://www.rfcafe.com/references/electrical/sinewave-voltage-conversion.htm

An 'nsec' is a nanosecond or one billionth of a second.