Tannoy Signature Revolution DC4T compared to B&W 684

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hello all,

Im hoping that some one who has listened to both of the above can give me the benefit of some their experience.

Have recently had a demo with the B&W 684 (683 too big). While overall I suppose it was OK, there was no real WOW factor. While I realise that £700 is'nt a massive amount for a speaker (relatively speaking), I was probably expecting a bit more

I'm not sure if there is a technical term for this but at lower volumes they sounded muffled. The volume at which it started to sound good was really TOO loud. Also, again I'm not technical, there were some aspects of the sound in the high end that they seemed to cut short/struggle with/understate.

Have been looking at the Tannoy DC4T (a bit more expensive but still within overall budget at a push) but I can't get a demo locally. From a style point of view these would probably first on the list. Has anyone heard these? if so how do they compare with the 684 as a point of reference? Can I expect better detail at lower volumes. What does it do well? What drawbacks do they have?

Will ultimately be using the fronts I choose as the basis of a 5.1 system from the same manufacturer. I'm thinking that if I get stereo speakers sorted first then everything else should fall into place... hopefully!.... but music is important!

Many thanks

A

Anonymous

The tannoys are more detailed than the b&w's for sure but lack bass compare to the 684's. If you are looking for detail and good bass mind you i would recommend that you have a listen to the rega r5's. Spank both the 684's and tannoys musically IMO. An you can also get the full 5.1 set and still be in the same price range as the b&w's. Only thing is, they aint that pretty.

A

Anonymous

Thanks Gander!

They do look a bit... less pretty. Not sure that they would fit in with our decor!

Would the DC6T be much of an improvement over the DC4T's?

mikeinbrum

Oct 22, 2008