Synology DS212j > Rega DAC using iOS control app

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
A few questions as I am new to this. Thanks

I want a Synology DS212j that will be hardwired to my Rega DAC via USB.

I have a MacBook Pro that I will use to rip in ALAC but will set up my destination iTunes folder to be on the NAS so in effect I wont have any music on my MBP.

Can anyone see any problems with this?

Obviously I will have to use the Synology app when using my DAC or can I use the iOS remote app?

Can I still use iTunes via my MBP?

Sorry but I am new to all this!

Thanks

stevebrock said:

No, as long as you have another backup of your music, so you,don't lose everything if the hard drive on our NAS crashes.

Obviously I will have to use the Synology app when using my DAC or can I use the iOS remote app?

I don't know. Maybe someone else will come along and help you with this.

Yes, you can still play the songs in your MBP via iTunes.

stevebrock

Nov 13, 2009
Visit site
Thanks for that, I have been reading some of your threads!

Logical step would be to use the DS Audio app on my iPhone - Does app have a good interface/easy to use/intuitive?

Thanks for you help

I plan to use 2 x 2TB

Lastly will the Synology output ALAC files through the USB?

stevebrock said:
Logical step would be to use the DS Audio app on my iPhone - Does app have a good interface/easy to use/intuitive?

Yes, it's very good.

I plan to use 2 x 2TB

Are you planning to use Synology's hybrid RAID, or some other RAID? That's not a true backup. Also, if both the hard drives are from the same batch, they're likely to fail together. I would suggest using another external hard drive as a backup.

Lastly will the Synology output ALAC files through the USB?

Yes.

Chisy1

Aug 13, 2008
Visit site
stevebrock said:
A few questions as I am new to this. Thanks

I want a Synology DS212j that will be hardwired to my Rega DAC via USB.