sonos connect amp & cambridge audio x200 sub

HelBel65

Mar 22, 2014
Visit site
Hi all. Trying to set up my new system and it doesn't seem to be working!

I have a Sonos Connect Amp, a Cambridge Audio Minx x200 subwoofer and 2 Bose Acoustimass 3 speakers. Sonos is set up and working fine but I don't think the Minx sub is working. There's a barely detectable difference when I switch it off. The sound I'm getting from the speakers is pretty tinny and just can't work out what I'm doing wrong. The sub is getting a signal from the Connect Amp because it powers on when I play a track but I'm just not getting a good sound.

Complete novice at all this so would appreciate a dummy proof reply! :oops:

mmg

Dec 24, 2013
Visit site
First: did you set the crossover correctly on the sub? The Connect:AMP will automatically set the crossover for you, so you can't use the crossover on the sub: set it to the maximum value (200 on your sub). It's the 3rd dial from the left, which says "crossover frequency".

Second: you can set the output volume of the sub by using the "volume" dial on the sub. If the crossover is set correctly, try increasing the volume dial.

Also make sure the power cable is connected and the power switch is set to on :)

mmg

Dec 24, 2013
Visit site
Glad you got it to sound better. Are you using 2 subwoofers now? The Bose Acoustimass 3 has it's own sub, right? Or are you just using the cubes?

HelBel65

Mar 22, 2014
Visit site
It does but the Bose sub is passive, which I didn't clock until after I bought the Sonos ConnectAMP :oops:

So then I bought the x200, the Bose sub now redundant. Free to a good home!

mmg

Dec 24, 2013
Visit site