Sky HD Box - Problem

admin_exported

Aug 10, 2019
Visit site
Hi All,

My HD box is 15 months + old and is a Thomson unit, it has started going unresponsive every so often (1 or 2 times a night) where the picture disappears from the screen (whether playing back a recording or just watching a channel) and no buttons work. The only option is to unplug - wait - plug back in - wait - and then all OK for anything from 10 mins to several hours.

I have been running the new EPG for a couple of months now by the way.

I think it could be a 'power supply unit' issue but any other suggestions and / or fixes welcomed.

I have found a company that fits uprated power supply boards for £30 with panasonic capacitors etc so may give them a go.

Regards Simon.

Andy Clough

Apr 27, 2004
Visit site
I know Clare has just had to have her Sky HD box replaced too, but not sure what the problem was (and the new one won't yet run the new EPG). Sure she'll be along in a mo to explain.

Andy Clough

Apr 27, 2004
Visit site
Turns out two more of my colleagues are having similar problems and are having to request replacement Sky HD boxes. Seems there may be a problem with the new EPG. Have emailed Sky for an official response.

A

Anonymous

Many thanks and I will keep an eye out for further replies.

On the subject of the EPG - no it did not freeze prior but it has had the EPG for a good while now (2 months maybe)

Cheers again.

Andy Clough

Apr 27, 2004
Visit site
Sky has looked into the issue and says: "We are not aware of any issues across the Thomson platform relating to failed recordings as a result of the download of the new Sky+ HD EPG."

So the fact that it's happened to three of us recently is just a coincidence. Apparently.

Clare Newsome

Jun 4, 2007
Visit site
I'm guessing it's down to the fact that the Thomson boxes are the oldest in the Sky HD 'fleet' - they're suffering from old age! (Bet the hot weather hasn't helped, either - the fan was on overtime on my old box).