Removing Banana Plugs from back of speakers

docpro

Jan 30, 2024
Visit site
This is probably a total noob question so apologies in advance

I need to move house so need to pack my speakers into cardboard boxes for the move

They are B&W PM1s

The hifi shop I bought them from already connected the banana plugs into the back of the speakers before I bought them - so dont know how they put them in

Im unsure if they are supposed to come out now (in order to make the speakers easier to pack without the cable attached)- or are they - and the cable - supposed to stay connected forever?

The transparent plastic cylinder the banana plugs go into have a screw top.

Ive undone the cap fully on one of the plugs and attempted to pull the cable a little - but its not giving the impression its going to move.

What should I do?

Thanks

Attachments

• IMG_5309.jpg
    IMG_5309.jpg
    109.2 KB · Views: 16

twinkletoes

Nov 16, 2021
Visit site
This is probably a total noob question so apologies in advance

I need to move house so need to pack my speakers into cardboard boxes for the move

They are B&W PM1s

The hifi shop I bought them from already connected the banana plugs into the back of the speakers before I bought them - so dont know how they put them in

Im unsure if they are supposed to come out now (in order to make the speakers easier to pack without the cable attached)- or are they - and the cable - supposed to stay connected forever?

The transparent plastic cylinder the banana plugs go into have a screw top.

Ive undone the cap fully on one of the plugs and attempted to pull the cable a little - but its not giving the impression its going to move.

What should I do?

Thanks
just gently pull on the red and black shrink wrap, making note of where wires go when you come to put them back in, as they will be in specific places in the back of the amp and you can potentially damage the speakers if done wrong

docpro

Jan 30, 2024
Visit site
That's a first.